Buttplug & Arduino devices

Hi all, first post.

I have a question. I would like to connect an Arduino to the Buttplug server as a controllable device through a USB cable. Is that possible? If so has anybody got a head start on me and can offer any tips?

Btw I’m a mechanical engineer so I can do hardware, beyond Arduino my knowledge of coding is very limited.

Thanks!

It will be! I’m just about to release the start of making this a possibility.

I’ll try to tl;dr this explanation.

In Buttplug so far, we haven’t had a way for users to define their own devices without changing the library. I’m making it so that users will just be able to change some text config files to add their own devices. On top of that, we’d need to know how to talk to your arduino. We’re considering a generic protocol to just send commands like vibrate, move back and forth, etc that people could implement on their arduino (we’ll provide examples) so things would “just work” in terms of talking to Buttplug software.

Like I said, first steps of this are about to ship, it may take us a bit to get to that final point.

Hey thanks for taking the time to reply.

So in my ideal world anyone with an Arduino device would simply need to plug in to a USB port on the computer, then in Buttplug define a custom device by picking a serial comm port and a baud rate. That’s really it. Simple serial communication over USB would easily be enough for anything I’d want to do.

How to talk to the Arduino? I like your idea of a generic protocol. Just define one, it doesn’t need to be too complicated. You list a set of generic device messages in your excellent documentation. I would be in toy hacker heaven if I had that data coming down a serial connection.